Concepts & Illustrations

This Week in Blogging Backwards: LOS FUCKING ANGELES.

Because I love it.

The times I realize how in love I am with Los Angeles are right before I leave to go on vacation. I get nervous. My nerves bunch up and I’m afraid to leave, like I might miss something. Every palm tree looks poetic, and every Hispanic has a story. I’ll miss him, I think, as if I knew where he was and saw him every day, as if the distant hills were the ridges of his languid, lovely hips.
-October 30, 2004

On days like I this I find myself thinking, I feel too much. Which speaks volumes of my warped sensitivity—that I’m most emotional just sitting in my room, pen in hand, sun in sky, mix of music playing Imogean Heap to X Japan, nothing in particular happening other than the city of Los Angeles going about its business.
-March 11, 2008

There is no spring cleaning for a March Los Angeles. There is no crawling out from winter weather, no colorful flowers raising the mood. The weather change is minimal, from cool to warm, from clear to fog, as the knowledge of summer sneaks in with the wind. Pitters of drizzle make their way through the smog, endlessly dirty. Hardy plants and palms wave greenly with no hesitation. Coming to life each day, the traffic flow is endless. Cars honk like migrating geese and stoplights go from yellow to red, tingeing the air with temerity like a late spring sunset.
The Last Song, written 2001-2002

I am poor as hell. I can barely afford my groceries every week. I budget accordingly so I can see a concert about once a month because live music means more to me than the state of the entire civilized world. And yet, the city makes me happy.
I have no iPhone, Blackberry, Bluetooth, SaladShooter, or flat-screen television. But LosAngeles, in all of its flawed, energy-guzzling glory, gives me smiles every day.

-January 25, 2010, in response to The Sun


My entire center of gravity is here. Leaving gives me serious vertigo. Like I’m walking on my ankles instead of my feet.
-July 1, 2008

This is my existence: the sights of Los Angeles, the awesomeness of friends, the electricity of live music, and the resulting narratives and poetry. I live with friends and four dogs and a giant tortoise. I am constantly discovering new ways to express myself. I am always looking forward to something. I refuse to settle for anything. Where’s the fun in that?
-January 2, 2010


But it’s not ‘cool’ to love Los Angeles!

It’s the shithole of the media, the place everyone loves to bitch about being too spread out, so fake, too smoggy, no seasons, whatever. LA kids are either spoiled rich slobs or future gangster rappers from the South side. If you hate it here, you’re validated in the eyes of the world.

So, all together now. Los Angeles sucks!

All the traffic, and the stupid movie industry. All the palm trees. I mean, palm trees are ugly. You can’t wish on stars; you have to wish on helicopters, and the buildings are boring. It’s so dirty. All the graffiti. All the kids on skateboards spray-painting the walls. All the underside murals that line every highway. All that culture.

There’s too much of it. Too many different languages. Too much sun. Too much blue sky.  The air is too dry. There are too many things to do before lunch. Too many parks to visit. The dogs and the comic book stores. Beaches are a bore; who wants to swim?

Mountains are ugly.  Hillsides are gross. Weather shouldn’t be perfect all the time. Stupid cars and freeway signs. Stupid purple flowers. Stupid roller coasters. Stupid museums. Windy roads make you carsick. White houses belong in heaven.

No one likes to walk along the Sunset Strip at midnight. No one likes newsstands that are open into the early morning. Sun shining off pavement hurts your eyes. Malls are overrated. Good food you can do without. Korean street signs, guys in sequins, black-jeaned punks, salt breeze, library tower, ads the size of a skyscraper—

why would anyone ever want to live here?

-May 20, 2006
[If the sarcasm escapes you, please exit this blog stage left.]

[dedicated to Kris, for actually sounding happy here <3]

5 thoughts on “This Week in Blogging Backwards: LOS FUCKING ANGELES.

  1. Oh my, I too feel like I’m walking on my ankles when I leave Los Angeles. This is really the only place I belong. Brilliant compilation.

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention This Week in Blogging Backwards: LOS FUCKING ANGELES. « City Lover -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

