Concepts & Illustrations / Observations

This Week in Blogging Backwards: Self-Image and Being Skinny

Because hey, it’s fashion week in NYC, London, Paris & Milan.

When I was a kid, I would read my mother’s clothing catalogues and assume that one day I would just wake up and magically look like that – boobs, hips, the whole deal. Needless to say, that hasn’t happened.

You know what? I think Kate Moss looks great, and I think skinny fashion models are empowering. Suck on that, Cosmo.

When I feel good about myself, I look the same, but I’m apart from myself. I’m watching through a viewfinder at a better version of me. I never see anything through my own eyes. When I look at my body in the context of fashion, it’s fine. Inside it, it’s hard. It’s not a ‘womanly’ body. It’s  an ungirl body.
-March 24, 2004


If I could give myself a pill it would be made of stone to slap me upside a rock and let me hang there like Prometheus.  But it’s useless, isn’t it?  I fool myself into thinking I live underground.  Then some headache hits harder than any major earthquake.  A news broadcast falls lighter than a plucked eyelash.  Dead bodies float like foam dinosaurs in bathtubs while a silly story pours orange juice on an open wound.  My meds ought to be metallic instead of mineral – I’d have to jump through the breath of a dragon to reach the world’s awareness.  A tide could become nuclear and my eyes would only water with worry over a certain someone’s no sleep.  Testify: there are holes in my eyes made from merely grammatical matters.  Why do I pretend to be human?
January 27, 2007


The naturally thin, a group of which I happen to be a part, are spoken of in inhuman terms.  We aren’t even people, we’re just ‘a standard that real women could never live up to.’  No comfort comes to thin people, whether eating disordered or not, to hear these conditions being ‘treated’ with statements like “Fashion models look disgusting,” or “Skinny women are evil.”  Isn’t that nice?  It may come as a surprise to hear that thin people develop eating disorders just as often as anyone else.  Many anorexic and bulimic individuals do not even become underweight or so much as approach their desired weight during the course of the disease.  Most medical complications are not visible to the naked eye.  It is nearly impossible, therefore, to look anorexic, as so many claim of various celebrities.  People do not ‘look’ anorexic; people have anorexia, by no fault of anyone.
-November 28, 2006


If I read one more article on eating disorders about body image and fashion models and pressure put on ‘teenage girls’ I think my head’s going to start spinning and spitting pea-soup vomit.
January 5, 2007

The first ever reported case of anorexia nervosa occurred in the 16th century in a sixteen year old male.  Not only does this raise the question of where the disorder originated, it completely negates the theory that the media is entirely to blame (unless one could refer to parchment and wandering minstrels as ‘the media’).
-October 10, 2005

Examples of comments I’ve received in the past week concerning my weight:

  • “God, you’re so skinny.”
  • “Eat something. Look at you! Eat!”
  • “I was going to go out after this, but because of you I’m going to go home and exercise instead.”
  • “I’d say that I hate you, but you’re nice.”
  • “I wish I had your problem.”
  • “People whose thighs don’t touch have no soul.”

Thanks, guys. I’ll be sure to mention how fat you are next time.

April 6, 2006


And on that note, be sure to visit style.com this month to look at a bunch of lovely skinny ladies wearing gorgeous clothes.

3 thoughts on “This Week in Blogging Backwards: Self-Image and Being Skinny

  1. Beauty is relative…. I must tell you that many would kill to look like you. I would love it……. I could power down 10 buritto supremes a day then…..ha!
    xoxoxo
    love you, you are an exquisite & unique goddess, embrace it with confidence 😉
    jp

  2. Hai BB ❤

    Oh no, I think I told you to eat something in Vegas. I'm horrible. I think you are beautiful in every way. Here, have some soup 😉

Leave a Reply

